Fantasia (Piano-Clarinet-Cello)


by Robert Schultz
Schultz Music Publications
Contents: Full Performance Score / Parts Set
Advanced / Professional
Duration: 12 minutes


Fantasia Op. 49 Trio for Piano, Clarinet in B-flat and Cello

Composed during the spring of 2016 for Pittsburgh based Zaffiro Trio (pianist Tina Faigen, clarinetist Mary Beth Malek and cellist Paula Tuttle), Fantasia Op. 49 was premiered in September, 2016 at the University of Pittsburgh’s Bellefield Hall. The one-movement, 12-minute work is written in circular form that evolves by departing from the introductory material to travel through 11 additional sections before returning to the original material. The three instruments are featured equally as the piece unfolds, moving through sections that vary from delicate and crystalline to powerful and dramatic, leading finally, to a thrilling presto conclusion. Written in Schultz’s bold, colorful and expressive contemporary style, Fantasia Op. 49 offers an attractive program option for any progressive piano, clarinet & cello trio.

This edition includes a beautifully engraved full performance score, edited by the composer (29 pages) plus parts (7 pages each); scored for clarinet in B-flat (displayed at concert pitch in full score).

See sample score and part pages in gallery images at left.

Fantasia is available in an edition for piano, violin and piano SMP549b.

Fantasia is also available in an adaptation for piano, oboe and bassoon. Email for details and availability.

Also available for Piano, Clarinet and Cello: Trio Op. 52 SMP553

Watch the World Premiere performance of Fantasia by Zaffiro Trio

Additional information

Weight 7.0 oz
Dimensions 8.5 × 11 × 0.13 in
Catalog Number: SMP549 Category: Tags: , , , ,